WAITING GAME OVER!!!

Alright, I promised that I won’t TELL this story.

But I did not promised I will not WRITE it here.  hahaha..

Sorry, my friend, I really want to do this. Okey, names and some incidents withheld. Hmmp.  

Just wanna share this story I ‘learned’ yesterday that  made me drop my supposed schedule for the next few days in an instant.

( To a ‘friend’ whom I may have disappointed last night, I will make it up to you as promised. )

 

They met in their early high school years during a summer vacation in their province. Like most summer vacations in our teen years, we expected a few new acquaintances and develop some crushes, right? 🙂

 

To cut the story short, their summer vacation ended and soon after they’re back in their respective hometowns. The boy opted to visit the girl in her school when classes resumed. ( The school was named after a famous Philippine president ).

 

Since, during that time, cellular phones are not yet a valuable tool of communication and even landlines are not for everyone, meet-ups become if not challenging, an exciting thing to do. From planning, mustering the courage to ask and get approval of to the exact day of the scheduled meet-up, it consumes time, effort and the bonus?, maybe a whole lot of ‘pogi points’ on the spot if the object of your ‘pagpapapogi’ will appreciate it. The boy got the support of his cousins in his waiting challenge. They will also serve as an army of back-ups or a cheerleading squad behind him in case he’ll need it.

 

He patiently waited until all students seemed to emptied the huge high school. Then came three bullies (for some reasons went to school that day, awww), armed with a knife and bully-shits, approached them and take the excitement of waiting off  from them.

 

Worse thing, the girl did not ‘showed up’. She is fortunately not in that school that day, neither would she be in other days.

 

Unfortunately, the boy went to the wrong high school branch. Ouch!

 

Even worst? The encounter with the bullies left the boy some scars in his arms and hands. Luck waved a finger at them in that fateful day allowing him to keep his life, suffered some stitches and keep some scars in memory of a ‘young sweet love’ thing. With a hope that one day he’ll see the girl again, he moved on with his life as swelling of the scars heal. Three years later, their paths crossed again and fate interfered, they parted ways — AGAIN.

 

What happened in those years after the last ‘together’ episode are not to be told here. Sorry. 🙂

 

Fast forward 2009, one  Saturday of April, ‘destiny’ ended it all.  As the boy recounts it, after twelve years, they met again. He admitted that he could have just forget the girl and everything about her and move on.

But destiny has its own course, I guess. 🙂

 

Yesterday, over cold choco and sweet cake donuts in a noisy sweet shop inside a busy mall—the girl was introduced to a friend as his WIFE.

 

No, they’re not married yet.

moa-road1

 

So here’s to the owners of this story…

 

Some scars are not just scars, nor simply a conversational piece’ to start with. Its a reminder of why things happen and why we should see its reasons. What or who may have hurt you in the past may make you happy one day. Make up for lost time and know each other more.  Love more, wait less.

 

I am not a fan of this ‘destiny’ beliefs. But like what I fortuitously uttered, it must be ‘destiny’.

And the ‘tactless part’ of my brain means it. hahaha.

This song plays in my mind as I write this.

 Somewhere Down The Road

by : Barry Manilow

We had the right love
At the wrong time
Guess I always knew inside
I wouldn’t have you for a long time

Those dreams of yours
Are shining on distant shores
And if they’re calling you away
I have no right to make you stay

But somewhere down the road
Our roads are gonna cross again
It doesn’t really matter when
But somewhere down the road
I know that heart of yours
Will come to see
That you belong with me

Sometimes good-byes are not forever
It doesn’t matter if you’re gone
I still believe in us together
I understand more than you think I can
You have to go out on your own
So you can find your way back home

And somewhere down the road
Our roads are gonna cross again
It doesn’t really matter when
But somewhere down the road
I know that heart of yours
Will come to see
That you belong with me
Letting go is just another way to say
I’ll always love you so

We had the right love
At the wrong time
Maybe we’ve only just begun
Maybe the best is yet to come
‘Cause

Somewhere down the road
Our roads are gonna cross again
It doesn’t really matter when
But somewhere down the road
I know that heart of yours
Will come to see
That you belong
With me

Disclaimer: I’ll be glad to relate the story that would follow yesterday’s. Right here in my blog. When I am permitted to do so. J

2 thoughts on “WAITING GAME OVER!!!

Leave a Reply

